Are we patching the pocket?
Carom and Snooker are playing each other in team play during a tournament. Carom’s Captain has decided that his team is going to patch the pocket the entire tournament. Snooker’s Captain did not want to patch the pocket during this match. However, the Rules provide that when shooting the 8-ball, one must patch the pocket. So if there is NOT an agreement between both teams (Captains), then the pocket is to be patched for the 8-ball.
Either Snooker’s Captain didn’t make it clear to all of his teammates that the patch was being used, or Snooker wasn’t paying any attention when his Captain announced that they would be patching the pocket, so Snooker didn’t know if they were patching the pocket or not. His game is the third game of the match. Snooker could have asked before he started his game, but he did not. Snooker could have been paying attention to the previous two games played where the pocket was patched for the 8-ball, but Snooker was not paying any attention to the
games being played.
In Snooker’s game, he has run all of his group of balls and is ready to shoot his 8- ball. Since Snooker is unsure if he has to patch the pocket or not, before he shoots the 8-ball, he asks his teammates “are we patching the pocket”. When they reply “yes”, Carom calls a foul. Coaching. Snooker does not acknowledge the foul. You are the referee called to the table.
You make the call!!!!
Snooker’s position is that the simple reply of “yes” is not coaching. It is not telling him how to shoot his shot. Snooker says he has/had already determined which pocket he was going to pocket the 8-ball in and the manner of his shot is already determined. Snooker also says that this is just like when a shooter asks his teammates “how many balls do I need” toward the end of a match. If they reply, that is not a foul. The manner of how to shoot the remaining balls to achieve the needed number to win the match is left to the shooter. He is not being told how to
shoot any shot. This situation is the same.
Carom’s position is that by telling Snooker that they are patching the pocket is telling him exactly how to shoot the shot. It is telling him the manner in which the shot has been made, i.e. the pocket must be patched. Carom also says that we are dealing with one ball here, the “game” ball. We are not talking about a number of balls to be made, just one, the 8-ball, and by telling someone that they have to patch the pocket is directly telling him how the shot is to be made. Therefore it is a coaching foul.
Carom is correct here. By telling a shooter that he/she must patch the 8-ball is a coaching foul. It would be the same as if the shooter was getting ready to pocket the 8-ball, and one of his/her teammates yells out “patch the pocket”. That is a foul. That is a coaching foul. The two situations are the same. Snooker has committed a foul.
Snooker had numerous opportunities to avoid his plight. First, if he had any doubt, just patch the pocket to be on the safe side, make the 8-ball in the patched pocket, and then after the game is over, he can then ask his teammates if they are patching the pocket. Better safe than sorry. Secondly, he could have been paying attention when his Captain announced that they were patching the pocket. Third, he could have been paying attention to the previous two games and saw that they were patching the pocket, so he would have known that he had to patch the pocket. Fourth, he could have asked BEFORE he started his game. Fifth, if he missed during his game, and his opponent was at the table shooting, he could have asked his teammates then if they were patching the pocket.
When so many teams agree not to patch the pocket, many teams feel that when a team requires the patch to be used, they are trying to get a cheap game. That is not the way to look at it. They are simply requiring the Rules to be followed and want to know exactly where the 8-ball is going to be pocketed. Shooters do a lot of things to remind themselves that they need to patch the pocket when the patch is being used. Some use an ink pen or a magic marker and write “PATCH” on their bridge arm or write it on their bridge hand between the thumb and index finger. One team agreed between themselves that they would patch EVERY BALL SHOT. If they had solids, then they patched the three ball, the six ball, etc., so when they shot the 8-ball, they would not forget to patch it. Surely after patching seven group balls, one would not forget to patch the 8-ball. There are a variety of ways on how one wants to remind themselves to patch the pocket. Use your imagination.
Comments
Post a Comment