Yet another miscue on the break
Miscue on the break. Cue ball scratches and 3 Object balls hit a rail.
Snooker and Carom, two old dogs at the pool game, are playing each other again in league play. Once again, they cannot agree on the Rules. Snooker is breaking and miscues. Snooker just watches the cue ball float down the table, strike the rack, causing three object balls to jump out and hit the rail, and Snooker scratches in the corner pocket. Carom approaches the table, and she says she wants to rerack and break herself. Snooker says: “No, I scratched, it is a foul, you have cue ball in hand behind the headstring, and you just have to live with how the table is now”. Carom responds: “No, I have the option of accepting the table in position and shooting from behind the headstring, but I don’t want that option, or I can rerack and break or have you break, and I want to break”. Instead of letting the issue turn into a dog fight, you are called as the Referee to decide the issue. You make the call!!!!
Each old dog has a particular Rule in mind. Snooker is referring to Rule B.5. which does provide that “If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball), (2) it is a foul, (3) the table is open...”. The incoming player would have cue ball in hand behind the headstring. However, Carom is referring to Rule B.2. which provides in it’s entirety that “If the breaker hits the racked balls with the cue ball driving four or more numbered balls to a cushion or pocketing one or more object balls, the game is considered started. If the Player fails to make a legal break, it is not a foul; however, the opponent has the option (1) accepting the table in position and shooting, or (2) have the balls re-racked and shooting the break himself or have original breaker rebreak”.
At first blush, it seems that both Rules would apply. However, Rule B.2. requires that four or more numbered balls must be driven to a cushion or one or more object balls must be pocketed on the break BEFORE the game is considered started, and the failure to do so means that it is not a legal break. If you look closely at Rule B.5., which is set out above, it begins with: “If a player scratches on a legal break shot...”. If Rule B.5. is to be applied, there must be a legal break. Failure to meet the requirements of a legal break means that the options under Rule B.2. apply. Snooker did not make a legal break. The game is not considered started. Rule B.2. applies instead of B.5., notwithstanding that Snooker scratched. Carom may exercise the options provided under Rule B.2.. Had Carom wanted to accept the table in position and continue shooting, Carom would have had ball in hand behind the headstring.
Comments
Post a Comment