Another miscue on the break
A miscue on the break. Player double hit the cue ball.
Here is another great article written by my colleague Fred Johnson for the Colorado VNEA newsletter. He does seem to miscue on the break a lot... Anyways, I hope you enjoy reading and learn something.
Snooker and Carom, two old dogs at the pool games, are playing each other in league play. Carom is breaking. As she is addressing the cue ball for the break, and is making forward stroke motions, Carom accidentally taps the cue ball forward all with her stick. As the cue ball is moving forward, Carom hits the cue ball a second time, hitting the racked balls hard, and breaks the rack wide open. Snooker declares a foul, and much to his surprise, Carom acknowledges the Foul. However, they do not know what the options are for Snooker. You are the referee called to the table. You make the call!!!!
There could be a number of options here.
- Under Rule H. 10., a double hit on the cue ball is a foul.
- Under Rule I. 1. in the event of a foul on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break, the cue ball has to be behind the headstring.
- Under Rule B. 9. involving jumping an object ball off the table on a break shot, the incoming player has the option of (1) accepting the table in position and shooting, or (2) taking cue ball in hand behind the headstring and shooting. Should this be an option?
- Under Rule B. 2. if a player fails to make a legal break by not pocketing a ball or not driving four or more numbered balls to a rail, opponent can accept the table in position and shoot or have the balls re-racked and shooting the brake himself or have the original breaker rebreak.
- It can also just be considered an illegal break and be treated as if the 8-ball was pocketed and the breaker scratched the cue ball.
Comments
Post a Comment